Visegrad Literary Residency Program - open call for application

The newly established by the International Visegrad Fund, the Visegrad Literary Residency Program consists of a series of residency stays and literary events addressed to writers of fiction and non-fiction, poets, essayists, critics as well as literary translators, publicists and journalists from the Visegrad Countries (Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland and Slovakia). It is based on a partnership of 4 Host Institutions, one in each V4 country: Institut umeni (Arts Institute) in Prague, Petőfi Irodalmi Múzeum (Petőfi Literary Museum) in Budapest, Stowarzyszenie Willa Decjusza (Villa Decius Association) in Krakow and Literarné informačné centrum (Centre for Information on Literature) in Bratislava.

The Program will provide opportunities to host from and in all V4 member states and to support work and mobility of talented Literary Residents, to create a platform for information exchange and to support development and promotion of the V4 literature in Central Europe.

The Villa Decius Association acts as the Coordinator of the Program.

The 2012 edition of the Program will enable 16 Literary Residents to carry their literary projects in 4 Host Institutions in the period of: 1st September – 30th November 2012.

Each of the Host Institutions will be responsible for organising a stay of a group of 4 Literary Residents (one from the Czech Republic, one from Hungary, one from Poland and one from Slovakia), who will be working on their individual literary projects, and also participate together in a literary event organised in the hosting city.

The recruitment process of 16 grantees of the Program (4 from the Czech Republic, 4 from Hungary, 4 from Poland and 4 Slovakia) will be based on individual applications submitted via an online application form, which will be opened on the website of the Villa Decius Association.  

The residences will be assigned to applicants by the Selection Panel on the basis of proportional and equal involvement of Czech, Hungarian, Polish and Slovak residents and Host Institutions.

More information and selection criteria at: